Journal of Applied Geochemistry Vol. 15, No. 3 (2013). pp 393-394

ANNUAL GENERAL BODY MEETING (AGM)

14-15 February, 2013

University of Pune, Pune

The sixteenth Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) of the society and the National Seminar on "Synergy of Geochemistry, Geology, Geophysics towards Natural and Energy Resources, Environment and Health" was held during 14-15 February, 2013 at Department of Geology, University of Pune, Pune. The event was sponsored by University of Pune. The minutes of the AGM-2013 are given below.

MINUTES

Dr. K. K. Dwivedy, the President, ISAG and Chairman of the AGM- 2013 welcomed the delegates. Dr. P. N. Razdan, Vice-Chancellor, Dr. D.Y. Patil University, Pune was the Chief Guest. The Adviser, MoES, New Delhi Dr. M. Sudhakar was the Guest of honour and the President respectively for the Annual General Body Meeting and valedictory function of National Seminar. Prof. N. R. Karmalkar, Department of Geology, University of Pune, Pune deliver the annual lecture.

- Prof. K. Surya Prakash Rao Hon. Secretary of ISAG presented the Annual Report for the financial year 2011-2012. The copies of the report were circulated to the delegates at the start of proceedings of AGM-2012.
- 2. Dr. A.G.S. Reddy presented the accounts for the financial year 2011-2012. The accounts show that the income is slightly higher than the expenditure of the society for the financial year ended on 31-03-2012. The funds situation is satisfactory for the present but may not be so in future due to escalation of cost on each and every item.
- 3. The delegates were requested to get clarifications, if any in the Annual Report and Audited Accounts from the Secretary. After due discussion the annual report and the accounts were unanimously adopted by the fellows/delegates.
- 4. The President awarded medals and the Chief Guest distributed the Merit Certificates to the following scientists, selected on the recommendation of expert committees of each medal and after thorough discussion by the Executive Council (EC).

Prof. J.S.R. Krishna Rao - Dr. R. Dhana Raju medal

The article on "Municipal Solid Waste–A Potential Latent Resource for Non-Conventional Energy in India: Neeeds and Challenges" by Srikanth Srigiri and M. Vikram Reddy, Department of Ecology and Environmental Sciences, Pondicherry University, Puducherry has been adjudicated as the best awarded medals and certificates to the authors.

Smt. Ketharaju Venkata Subbamma - Sri Subba Rao medal	Not awarded .
Smt. Manthripragada Sita Devi - Sri Rama Rao medal	Dr. M. Satyanarayanan, NGRI, Hyderabad has been awarded for his contribution in the field of Analytical Geochemistry for the period 2002-2012.
Dr. G. R. Udas - Dr. K. K. Dwivedy medal	Dr. T.S. Sunil Kumar, AMD, Hyderabad has been awarded for his contribution in the field of Geochemistry of Radioactive Minerals for the period 2002-2012.

5. The President invited the delegates to express their views about AGM 2013, the seminar and suggestions for the improvement of academic activities of ISAG. There upon the delegates, Research Institutes, Universities, etc expressed their views and complimented ISAG for taking up the noble cause of the Applied Geochemistry and extending support to the Research Scholars, Scientists, etc. However, the programme could not be completed under unavoidable circumstances.

During the brief interaction clarifications were provided by the Secretary about the Society and the procedure for becoming the member (Fellow) of the society and many other related matters. The Secretary supplied membership forms to the delegates. Two delegate became Life member of the society (Dr. Tanuuja Marathe & Prashant Sahebrao Dhote) and many promised to send membership forms soon both for Annual and Life fellows.

The delegates expressed happiness for organizing two day successful AGM-2013, National Seminar on "Synergy of Geochemistry, Geology, Geophysics to wards Natural and Environment and Health" during 14-15 February, 2013.

- 6. General discussion took place between Executive Council members and Organising Committee members several suggestions were given by the delegates for the improvement of the Society and academic activities in the future.
- 7. Dr. N.R. Karmalkar, the Guest of Honour, delivered the Annual Lecture

Date: 28-02-2012

K. Surya Prakash Rao Hon. Secretary, ISAG